Surfing NSW – New Chair and Deputy Chair (July 2024)

Surfing NSW today announced the election of Ben Rolleston as its new Chair, and Lyndel Gray as Deputy Chair. This follows the resignation of John O’Neill and Harry Hodge from the Board of Directors after almost 15 years of esteemed service.

The Skullcandy Oz Grom Open pres. by Vissla returns this year back to Lennox Head this forthcoming July.

The six-day event will run from 7 July –12 July and will comprise of a World Surf League (WSL) sanctioned Pro Junior Qualifying Series (JQS) event, as well as an elite competition for promising grommets in the Under 14, 16 and 18 divisions. 

In a similar vein to preceding years, a full spectrum of some of Australia’s best and most talented surfers are expected to compete in an attempt to claim a coveted title.

Skullcandy Oz Grom Open Event Director and Le-Ba Boardriders President Ben Beesley is elated to see the event return after a 2 year long hiatus due to Covid-19.

Expressions of interest will be taken for this year’s event and competitors will be decided based on based upon state rankings and wild cards.

“The LEBA Boardriders is so proud to be continuing to support and grow junior surfing by presenting an event of such high calibre. This event brings the best groms, not only from the local community but from around the world, to Lennox Head to display the best of junior high-performance surfing. After the crazy year that was 2020 and 2021, we are so excited to be able to support the local community and businesses with this world-class event.”

Surfing NSW CEO Luke Madden echoed Beesley’s sentiments.

“The Skullcandy Oz Grom Open has long been regarded as one of the most prestigious events in the world and we’re pumped to see it unfold on the beaches of Lennox Head and on the web for the world to view.”All event divisions will be broadcast live on

Entries into the junior divisions will be staggered on Monday 9th May on

For more information on the event, please contact or call (02) 9093 6035.

The 2022 Skullcandy Oz Grom Open presented by Vissla is proudly supported by Skullcandy, Vissla, Ballina Shire Council, Le-Ba Boardriders, WSL and Surfing NSW.

Mark Windon
OAM Executive Director

Felicity Conlan
Board Member

Francis Coady
Board Member

David Gyngell

Mike Baird

Other News