Published on 13/12/2020

The Northern Beaches Open – the final stop on the Australian Open of Surfing series –  got off to a flying start today with three surfers posting perfect ten-point rides in playful two-to-three foot waves at North Narrabeen. 

Current Australian Open of Surfing series leader Dylan Moffat (North Narrabeen) and runner-up Joel Vaughan (Bateau Bay) both showed why they were rated one and two on the leaderboard respectively, posting a series of gigantic backside snaps that resulted in a perfect ten-point ride. Moffat appeared to pull off a near-impossible two snap combo to notch up his perfect score, while Vaughan executed three lightning-fast backhand snaps and carves to finish with a ten-point ride.

Sarah Baum (Newcastle) locked into a beautiful roll-in lefthander that allowed her to tuck into a sublime little barrel and finish the wave with a technical forehand carve that also resulted in a perfect score. Baum will now meet Gabi Spake (Collaroy), Alysse Cooper (Manly) and Kasey Hargreaves (Stanwell Park) in the second round tomorrow.

The Northern Beaches Open will recommence tomorrow.

The prime locations for Northern Beaches Open is North Narrabeen with backup locations of Collaroy, Dee Why, Long Reef and Curl Curl.

All competitors are advised to ring the event hotline (0458 247 212) by 6.45am on the days of competition to confirm location and running order.

The entire Australian Open of Surfing series features eight events that will take place in the latter months of 2020 and provide professional and aspiring surfers with the opportunity to win prize money and gain momentum going into 2021.

Each event in NSW will see a total $7000 prize purse with $1500 going to the winner of the Men’s and Women’s divisions.

In addition to a larger prize purse, all events on the Australian Open of Surfing series will be webcast live through and the Surfing NSW Facebook.

The 2020 Australian Open of Surfing series will see events in:
Sunshine Coast, Qld – 19th – 20th September 2020
Gold Coast, Qld – 31st October – 1st November 2020
Cronulla – 8th – 9th November 2020
Port Macquarie – 14th – 15th November 2020
Kiama – 22nd – 23rd November 2020
Coffs Harbour – 29th – 30th November 2020
Far South Coast Open – 5th – 6th December 2020
Northern Beaches – 13th – 14th December 2020

All events will adhere to strict COVID-19 policies and regulations outlined by the Australian Government and council protocols.

The 2020 Australian Open of Surfing NSW Series is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also supported by Destination Kiama, Coffs Harbour City Council, Sutherland Shire Council, Port Macquarie Hastings Council, Eurobodalla Shire Council and Northern Beaches Council.

Other News