Published on 03/12/2021

It is with great pleasure to inform you that our own Matt Lawson and Let’s Go Surfings’ Brenda Miley were inducted into the fold of Surfing NSW Life Membership at yesterdays AGM.

Surfing NSW now has 13 Life Members. Brenda is the second woman recipient after Sandra English.

Life Membership nominations are considered by the Surfing NSW Life Membership Panel and voted on at the AGM.

The panel consists of: Phil Courtney, Wayne Pack, Matt Grainger and Mark Windon.

The Criteria:
•The inductee must have made a considerable contribution to the sport at a Club, Regional & State Level.
•The inductee must have enhanced their & Surfing NSW’s reputation through his/her ability, sportsmanship & character.

The Nominees:
Matt Lawson
• President Southend Boardriders 2001-2016–Life Member
• Administrator Surfing Southern Beaches formerly Southside Surfriders Assn 2006 to date.
•Instrumental in the formation of Maroubra United for the Australian Boardriders Battle and driving force in uniting all clubs on the beach.
•Level 3 International Judge 2005 to date.
•Now working with Surfing NSW, managing Surfers Rescue 24/7 and Boardrider Clubs affiliation –this area of the SNSW business has flourished under Matt.

Brenda Miley
•Foundation Member Southend Boardriders 1985, also on the committee as women’s representative.
•Owner operator of Lets Go Surfing, with licensed surf schools in Byron Bay, Bondi and Maroubra, this business grew from operating out of the back of an old Kombi, today employing over 100 coaching staff across 3 locations. Let’s Go Surfing has won numerous tourism awards over the past 15 years and regularly work with Destination NSW.
•Brenda is a High-Performance Coach, her niece Jessi Miley Dyer, now tour manager for the WSL, during her pro career was coached by Brenda.
•Has played a major role in all facets of Women’s Surfing in Australia over the past 30 years, President of Bondi Women’s Boardriders since 2000.
•Currently sits on the Surfing Southern Beaches Board.

Both Matt and Brenda will be officially presented with the honour and plaques at the Challenger Series event at Manly in May.

Other News