Surfing NSW – New Chair and Deputy Chair (July 2024)

Surfing NSW today announced the election of Ben Rolleston as its new Chair, and Lyndel Gray as Deputy Chair. This follows the resignation of John O’Neill and Harry Hodge from the Board of Directors after almost 15 years of esteemed service.

Merewether Boardriders have taken out the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle central NSW regional title at North Narrabeen beach today with the stellar team shining in difficult and windswept two-to-three-foot conditions.

The Novocastrian team of Philippa Anderson, Jackson Baker, Mike Clayton-Brown, Paul Snow and Zac McMahon put on a clinic over the duration of the event consistently finding diamonds in the rough to finish the final with a 33.91 total and get the nod ahead of fellow former National Final Champions Avoca Boardriders who finished in second.

“Most years we’ve managed to qualify for the National Final through coming second or third here, so to get a win feels awesome,” said Baker. “This region is one of the most stacked regions in Australia and there were so many amazing clubs that didn’t get this far and we can’t wait to get into the National Final and hopefully defend the title we won a couple of years back.”

The nudie Australian Boardriders Battle saw 14 boardriders clubs competing for the chance to qualify for the national final which will take place in 2021.

The nudie Australian Boardriders Battle ran on Saturday, December 12th, 2020 while the Northern Beaches Open will run Sunday 13th – Monday 14th December 2020.

The prime locations for the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle was North Narrabeen with backup locations of Collaroy, Dee Why, Long Reef and Curl Curl.

All competitors are advised to ring the event hotline (0458 247 212) by 6.45am on the days of competition to confirm location and running order.

For more information on the Nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series head over to​

nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series Eight Schedule:
ABB – EVENT 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – August 22, 2020
ABB – EVENT 2 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Sept 5, 2020
ABB – EVENT 3 – Trigg, WA – Sept 19, 2020
ABB – EVENT 4 – Clifton Beach TAS – Oct 3, 2020
ABB – EVENT 5 – Phillip Island, VIC – Oct 17, 2020
ABB – EVENT 6 – NSW Sth – Kiama, NSW – Nov 21, 2020
ABB – EVENT 7 – NSW Nth – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Nov 28, 2020
ABB – EVENT 8 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Dec 12, 2020
ABB – National Final – TBC

Now in its eighth season, the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event, involving more than 60 of Australia’s best boardrider clubs and $112,700 in prize money.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL World Tour surfers (Men and Women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

Adding to the high stakes at the State qualifying events will be two speciality awards. The Oakley Prizm Performer will be awarded to the standout surfer, while the Surfing Australia Innovation Award ($1000) will be presented to the surfer who performs the most innovative manoeuvre.

Other Awards at the National Final include:

  •  Surfing Australia Air Show – $1000
  •  Surfing Australia Club Spirit Award – $1500
  •  Layne Beachley Medal
  • Wayne Rabbit Batholomew Medal

NOTE: Due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation and Surfing Australia’s commitment to comply with all State and Federal regulations, series dates are subject to change at any time.

The 2020/21 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by nudie, Oakley, Woolworths, Hyundai, Destination NSW, City of Newcastle, 2XP, WSL, mySURFtv and Surfing Australia.

1 – Merewether
2 – Avoca
3 – Long Reef
4 – NASA (North Avalon)

Mark Windon
OAM Executive Director

Felicity Conlan
Board Member

Francis Coady
Board Member

David Gyngell

Mike Baird

Other News