Surfing State of Origin: Premier Event to Take Place at Burleigh Heads

Published on 14/03/2023

Queensland and New South Wales Boardrider Clubs (BRC) will go head-to-head on Sunday 30 April at Burleigh Heads in the Surfing State of Origin, an unprecedented event to decide the champion surfing State.

The first-of-its-kind, invitation only event, involves 16 BRCs with Queensland and New South Wales to showcase their top eight clubs to compete in Australian sport’s greatest rivalry.

Surfing Queensland Chief Executive Officer, Adam Yates, said there’s always been a friendly rivalry between the States and is expecting a fierce match-up between some of Australia’s best surfers.

“Club surfing is the core of surfing in our Country, breeding competitive surfers and creating camaraderie in what’s traditionally an individual sport,” said Yates. “Queensland and New South Wales are home to some of Australia’s best male and female surfers and several World Champions, so we’re anticipating an exciting showdown at the iconic Burleigh Heads for this inaugural event. I’m looking forward to watching the home State hold their ground – QUEENSLANDER!”

Fittingly, Burleigh Heads is the birthplace of modern professional surfing which originates back to the 1977 Stubbies Surf Classic – the event that kicked off the ‘man-on-man’ competition format and shaped professional surfing today.

Burleigh Hill will provide the perfect natural amphitheatre for spectators to watch the surfing action and have the ultimate Sunday Session with the pop-up beach bar this Labour Day long weekend.

Surfing NSW Chief Executive Officer, Luke Madden, said he’s incredibly excited to announce the launch of the Surfing State of Origin alongside Surfing Queensland’s Adam Yates.

“This concept has been born out of the passion and camaraderie that exists within the surfing community and celebrates the grassroots of surfing – our boardriding clubs,”said Madden. 

“Centered around representing your state, the Surfing State of Origin will bring together the best surfers from New South Wales and Queensland in a highly competitive event that is sure to create a strong sense of regional pride and loyalty among competitors and fans alike. We are stoked to bring this exciting new concept to the surfing calendar, and we believe it has the potential to become a much-anticipated fixture. We cannot wait to witness the best surfers from New South Wales and Queensland battle it out for the title, and to see the community spirit and regional pride that will be on display. Go the BLUES!”

The 16 participating BRCs will be selected based on the 2022/23 Australian Boardriders Battle results, with Surfing Queensland and Surfing NSW entering a wildcard club.

Each BRC will enter four competing members who will battle it out in their respective divisions in 4-person heats. Only the best of the best Open Male, Open Female, Master, and Junior surfer will be selected to represent their State in the State of Original Final, which will determine the overall champion State.

The Surfing State of Origin is proudly supported by Surfing Queensland, DriTimes, We Are Feel Good Inc, QMS Media and Queensland Government. 



  1. Snapper BRC
  2. North Shore BRC
  3. Noosa BRC
  4. Burleigh BRC
  5. Kawana BRC
  6. Point Lookout BRC
  7. Alley BRC
  8. Wildcard – MNM BRC


  1. Byron Bay BRC
  2. Mereweather BRC
  3. Avoca BRC
  4. Kingscliff BRC
  5. Jones Beach BRC
  6. North Narrabeen
  7. Scarborough BRC
  8. Wildcard – Long Reef BRC

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more