Surfing NSW – New Chair and Deputy Chair (July 2024)

Surfing NSW today announced the election of Ben Rolleston as its new Chair, and Lyndel Gray as Deputy Chair. This follows the resignation of John O’Neill and Harry Hodge from the Board of Directors after almost 15 years of esteemed service.

Cronulla, NSW – Saturday 22 OCTOBER 2022:  Cronulla Beach saw an action-packed day of surf and lifestyle action with the 12th annual Volkswagen Tradies Surfmasters presented by Oakberry, inclusive of a Volkswagen Kombi Rally, Mambo art exhibition, fresh acai bowls and the Battle of the Shire boardrider event taking over North Cronulla. 

The competition got underway on land with the Volkswagen Kombi Rally cruising into Peryman Square, making the drive from Greenhills, along the beachfront at sunrise to our event site at North Cronulla. With thousands of people descending on the beachfront throughout the day, the Mambo art exhibition was in full swing with Mambo artist’s Ben Brown and Nathan Sheehan creating a masterpiece on the brand-new Volkswagen Caddy Beach.

Cronulla Sharks Boardriders took to the waves, taking out the 2022 Battle of the Shire against a handful of stellar teams from the Sutherland Shire. 

In the Surfmasters, Christo Hall was a standout today, scoring a 9.0 in his first heat of the day, setting him up nicely to cruise into the finals in the early afternoon. With local competitors, Hayden Blair and Jordan Widenstrom flying the flag for the Cronulla locals taking wins in their respective divisions of the Surfmasters heats to follow. 

The 2022 Volkswagen Tradies Surfmasters Presented by Oakberry was proudly supported by Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles Australia, Tradies, Oakberry, Mambo, Matt Callaghan Real Estate and Surfing NSW.

Battle of the Shire
5th Cronulla Point Boardirders
4th Sandshoes
3rd Garie Boardriders
2nd Elouera Boardriders
1st Cronulla Sharks Boardriders

Over 28 Men
4th Brent Symes
3rd Hayden Blair
2nd Christo Hall
1st Jordan Widenstrom

Over 28/45 Women
4th Natasha Gee
3rd Talina Wilson
2nd Samantha Oakes
1st Greta Francis

Over 35 Men
4th Brent Symes
3rd Paul Snow
2nd Christo Hall
1st Hayden Blair

Over 45 Men
4th Glenn Pringle
3rd Rob Hazelwood
2nd Ian Spencer
1st Kieran White

Over 55 Men
4th Neale Ashby
3rd Brett Daintry
2nd Wayne French
1st Mark Tickle

Over 65 Men
3rd Kevin Hall
2nd John Lavers
1st Bruce Flint

Mark Windon
OAM Executive Director

Felicity Conlan
Board Member

Francis Coady
Board Member

David Gyngell

Mike Baird

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more