NSW Team Ready to Take on Australian Titles

Published on 05/08/2022

Surfing NSW is stoked to announce the full team for the 2022 Australian Surf Championships at Port Macquarie starting Saturday 6 August. The 17-day event will host the country’s top athletes across shortboard, longboard, logger, bodyboard and para-surfing divisions.

In the shortboard division NSW has dominated. Since the first Australian Championships in 1963 NSW surfers have won 34 titles in the men and 30 in the women.

Over 500 surfers will descend on Port Macquarie | Biripi Country in the heart of the NSW mid-north coast for the event.

The Australian Shortboard Titles begin on Saturday with the Open Men’s and Women’s heats. In the first heats of the day we’ll see Australia’s most elite surfers take to the water, with some exciting matchups on the cards.



Shortboards – Corey Ross, Michael Crisp, Rohan Fell
Longboard – Tim Reilly
Bodyboard – Scott Mace


View shortboard draw & results

Open Men: Nic Squires, Josh Levey, Micah Margieson, Eden Hasson, Oli Ryssenbeek, Darcy Crump, Shane Holmes, Tye Koolis, Kayle Enfield, Charli Hurst, Freya Prumm, Jesse Starling, Tru Starling, Imojen Enfield, Amelie Bourke

O35: Jeremy Cohen, Christo Hall, Nick Cowan, Joel Gribble, Matt Hoar, Declan Lee Smith, Peter Hayes, Mel Bartz, Amee Donohoe

O40: Christo Hall, Rodney Morgan, Randall Sharpe, Jeremy Cohen, Damien Wills, Shane Conwell, Declan Lee Smith

O45: Rob Hazelwood, Paul Snow, Dan Dignam, Matt Hardy, Cameron Sharpe, Kieran White, Wade Lazich

O50: Glen Valaire, Scott Myers, Wade Lazich, Schott Schindler, Gary James, Belinda Koorey, Sandra English

O55: Rod Baldwin, Glen Valaire

O60: Rod Baldwin, Dean Shwa, Jack Gallacher, Mark Gobbe, Julia Magliano


U18: Caelan Pitkeathly, Cooper Kelaher, Melanie Staunton, Jasmin Howarth, Chelsea Tingle, Layla Deighton

Open: William Crowe, Ceclan Wyton, Braden O’Rourke, Mitch Conwell, Mel Straunton, Jasmin Howarth, Blaze Roberts, Juliana Scopel

O40: Wendy Stevenson, Juliana Scopel, Tati Guedes, Dan Rowlands, Shane Baker, James Arichibald, Kieran Plim

O45: Jason Livingston, Simon Cox, Jay Carter, Troy Moorhouse, Mal McKay

O55: Tim Reilly, Richard Smith, Neale Ashby, John Fraser, Renne Kocis, Simon Cox, Mike Pimm

O60: John Fraser, Craig Jones, Mike Pimm, Jay Carter, Tim Reilly, Neil Frederiksen, Geroge Watt, Renne Kocis, Andrea Bohm

O65: Neil Frederiksen, Storm Carter, John Murray

O70: Greig Bedggood, Earle Page, Jeff Livermore


OPEN: Tom Bennett, Harrison Steward, Caelan Pitkealthy, Mitch Conwell, Tyson Letts, Michael Finlayson, Chelsea Tingle, Layla Deighton

O40: Kieran Plim, John Fraser, Neal Ashby, Shane Baker, Tati Guedes, Juliana Scopel

Junior: Caelan Pitkeathly, Cooper Kelaher, Chelsea Tingle, Layla Deighton


Open: Jimmy Leayr, Ryan Hill-Smith, Anthony Miller, Lloyd Odgen, Holden Stubbs, Billy Vercoe, John Cruickshank, Hayden Cruikshank, Josh Kirkman, Kaylah Pisani

U18: Jordan Waights, Harrison Podvinec, Ryan Hill-Smith

U16: Marlon Riley, Anthony Miller, Ryley Holie

U14: Sunny Williams, Archie Williams, Ollie Williams, Archer Thoms

O35: Nathian Davis, Shane Chalker, Paul Klasssen, Marc Abbott

45: Shane Chalker, Matt Riley

Dropknee: Ryan Duck, Jimmy Leayr, scott Kitchen, Mitchell Brown, Azza Glossop, John Cruickshank


Shortboard Titles Schedule

  • 6-10 August: Open Men and Open Women Shortboard division

  • 7-8 August: Masters Over 35 Shortboard division

  • 8-10 August: Over 60’s, Over 55’s, Over 50’s, Over 45’s, Over 40’s Shortboard division

View heat draw for Australian Shortboard Championships

Location and schedule subject to change based on conditions. For live updates and links, follow @surfingAus Instagram. For all live results, visit the Live Heats event page.

The opening function for the Shortboard Titles will be held at the Bonny Hills Beach Hotel on Friday 5 August at 4pm, with a team managers meeting at 4.45pm and judges meeting at 5.15pm.

The Australian Titles were first held in 1963 and won by Robert ‘Nat’ Young (NSW) and Phyllis O’Donnell (NSW). 2022 will be the 57th Australian Championship event in which NSW has won 34 Men’s and 30 Women’s Titles. 

A festival of events in the Port Macquarie region will keep competitors and their families entertained off the beach. Beach-side markets, art shows, a roller-disco, the Dropknee Session event, and the Caravan, Camping, 4WD and Boat Show will coincide with the Australian Surf Championships.

Port Macquarie-Hastings Council Mayor, Peta Pinson is excited to welcome the event and its supporters for the first time.

“It’s a point of pride to know that our beautiful region is nationally recognised as a prime location for events like these,” she said.

“After a difficult period with no activity and buzz, I’m both grateful and excited to welcome over 500 competitors, who will no doubt explore and energise our towns right across the coastline.

“We have a strong community of surfers locally and I know there is great excitement in seeing both up-and-coming and established surfers trying for Australian titles, especially for our younger surfers who aspire to do the same.”

Surfing Australia is working in conjunction with Surfing NSW to bring the 2022 Australian Surfing Championships to wave-rich Port Macquarie to crown the newest Australian Shortboard Champions.

NOTE: Entry to all Australian Titles is by state qualification or invitation. If you have qualified through your respective state titles, please enter via your state branch. 

NOTE: All events and event dates are subject to change. Surfing Australia strictly adheres to any Federal Government directive regarding the current COVID-19 pandemic.

Australian Surf Championships | Port Macquarie, NSW August 5 – 22, 2022

  • August 5 – Opening Ceremony for the Australian Shortboard Titles
  • August 6 – 10 – Period for the Australian Shortboard Titles (Further division scheduling to follow)
  • August 10 – Opening Ceremony for the Australian Longboard Titles
  • August 11 – 19 – Period for the Australian Longboard Titles (Further division scheduling to follow)
  • August 20 – Australian Para Surfing Titles (All divisions on standby)
  • August 21 – 22 – Period for the Reflections Holiday Parks Australian Bodyboard Titles (Further division scheduling to follow)

ALL EVENT INFO HERE: https://australiansurfchampionships.com/ 

The Australian Surf Championships is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

The event is also proudly supported by Port Macquarie-Hastings Council, the Australian Institute of Sport, Reflections Holiday Park, mySURF.tv, Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW. 


Nic Squires

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more