Newcastle set to host stop two of the Rip Curl GromSearch National Qualifier
Published on 28/09/2022

Over the next four days Newcastle will host the second stop of the Rip Curl GromSearch National Qualifier. The best groms from around the state and nation will be going head to head to earn themselves a spot in the national final at URBNSURF in 2023.

Over 150 groms from all over New South Wales, and Australia, will descend on Newcastle with last year’s Rip Curl GromSearch National winner and Newcastle local Ocean Lancaster eager to go back-to-back. The draw will also feature fellow Rip Curl team rider and local Natalie Fensom who placed 5th at last year’s National final. 

“After a year hiatus we are ecstatic to welcome the countries best grommets back to Newcastle” said Surfing NSW CEO Luke Madden.

Past champions of the GromSearch, such as the 2022 Rip Curl WSL Finals World Champions Filipe Toledo and Stephanie Gilmore, are anything to go by then this weekend will be fueled with entertaining performances by the highly skilled groms.

The GromSearch Series runs in more than 10 countries, with over 3,000 competitors worldwide.

The worldwide series of events is designed for grommets and features Under 12 Boys, Under 12 Girls, Under 14 Boys, Under 14 Girls, Under 16 Boys and Under 16 Girls divisions.


EVENT 1 – Jan Juc, VIC – Sept 17 – 19, 2022
EVENT 2 – Newcastle, NSW – Sept 29 – Oct 2, 2022
EVENT 3 – Coolum, QLD – Dec 12 – 14, 2022
National Final – URBNSURF Melbourne, VIC March 2023

The first call for the event will be 6:15am for a 7:00am start on Thursday. 

Live scores and daily schedule can be accessed here.

WSL World Tour athletes that were GromSearch finalists include:
Tyler Wright*, Steph Gilmore*, Carissa Moore*, Sally Fitzgibbons, , Tatiana Weston-Webb, Bronte McCaulay, Caroline Marks, Macy Callaghan, Brisa Hennessy, Isabella Nichols & Bethany Hamilton. (*Note: GromSearch competitors have won WSL women’s World Titles).
Men’s WSL World Tour athletes that were GromSearch finalists include:
Gabriel Medina*, Owen Wright, Italo Ferreira*, Jordy Smith*, Kolohe Andino*, Filipe Toledo*, Kanoa Igarashi*, Wade Carmichael, Ryan Callinan, Leonardo Fioravanti, Connor O’Leary, Seth Moniz, Griffin Colapinto & Morgan Cibilic. (*Note: GromSearch competitors have won WSL men’s World Titles).

You may also like….

Yamba’s Surf Camp Down Under

Yamba’s Surf Camp Down Under

Established in 2016 by a young, motivated team of surfers, Surf Camp Down Under has organically grown to become one of the area's most popular...

read more