Junior Surfers relish on finals day in Coffs Harbour

Published on 11/09/2022

Coffs Harbour, NSW (Sunday 11 September 2022): The Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps in Coffs Harbour wrapped up in ideal fashion today with champions being crowned across all four age divisions.

Hawaii’s Zoee Bradshaw (Haleiwa) arrived on the shores of Coffs Harbour in breathtaking form by taking out the win in the Under 10 girls. Bradshaw couldn’t have asked for much more in her final by locking in a perfect 10-point ride, as she went on her way to post the highest heat total of the whole entire event, 17.50 out of a possible 20.  .

Kade Kelly (Newcastle) played a patient final to secure his maiden victory for 2022, in a slow and tight final, he achieved a very smart game plan to catch quality waves over quantity. Kelly took home the win over current State Champion Locana Cullen (Avalon) and local Luca Martin (Coffs Harbour).

In a highly contested Under 14 girls it was Queensland’s Charli Hatley (Currumbin) day. All weekend Hatley had been sneaking under the radar of Leihani Zoric (Broken Head), it wasn’t until the semi-finals that Hatley asserted her dominance and showed that she was the inform surfer by posting a 9.17.

All finals scores can be seen here.

Close to 100 competitors are expected in the event.

Regarded as one of the major stepping stones in the development of young Australian surfers, the 10-event Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps series caters for surfers from Under 8 to Under 14 and will be held in New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania and South Australia over summer.

As an added bonus, the respective winners of the Under 14 boys’ and girls’ divisions from each event will receive an invite to attend an all-expenses-paid, three-day Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps National Final Surf Camp, (1-day coaching clinic, two days of competition and heat analysis coaching) at the Surfing Australia High-Performance Centre (HPC). For the South Australian, Victorian and Tasmanian events, the Woolworths Surf Camp prize will be awarded to the highest place Under-14 Boy and Girl who reside in that respective state

Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps 2022 Schedule:
EVENT 1 – Kiama, NSW – Sept 3 – 4, 2022
EVENT 2 – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Sept 10 – 11, 2022 
EVENT 3 – Gold Coast, QLD – Sept 24 – 25, 2022
EVENT 4 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Oct 1, 2022 
EVENT 5 – Northern Beaches, NSW – Oct 15 – 16, 2022 
EVENT 6 – Clifton Beach, TAS – Oct 29, 2022
EVENT 7 – Torquay, VIC – Nov 12 – 13, 2022 
EVENT 8 – Trigg, WA – Nov 19 – 20, 2022 
EVENT 9 – Cronulla, NSW – Dec 3 – 4, 2022 
EVENT 10 – Sunshine Coast, QLD – Dec 10 – 11, 2022

U8 Mixed
1st Atlas Zoric (Broken Head)
2nd Flynn Swierczewski (Coolangatta
3rd Lakey Schomberg (Bonville)
4th Noah De Campos (Emerald Beach)

U10 Girls
1st Zoee Bradshaw (Haleiwa)
2nd Isabel O’Boyle (Lennox Head)
3rd Coco Woolley (Boomerang)
4th Alanni Morriss (Shelly Beach)

U10 Boys
1st Phoenix Talbot (Yamba)
2nd Sage Lewis (Sandy Beach)
3rd Billy Daniel (Fingal Head)
4th Conor O’Boyle (Lennox Head)

U12 Girls
1st Lehiani Zoric (Broken Head)
2nd Talia Tebb (Avoca)
3rd Zoee Bradshaw (Haleiwa)
4th Olive Morriss (Shelly Beach)

U12 Boys
1st Kade Kelly (Newcastle)
2nd Locana Cullen (Avalon)
3rd Luca Martin (Coffs Harbour)
4th Liam Gason (Collaroy)

U14 Girls
1st Charli Hatley (Currumbin)
2nd Lehiani Zoric (Broken Head)
3rd Madora Barton (Yamba)
4th Avalon Vowels (Scotts Head)

U14 Boys
1st Ben Zanatta (Manly)
2nd Balin Cullen (Avalon
3rd Lucal Leal (Dee Why)
4th Will Tebb (Avalon)

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more