Surfing NSW – New Chair and Deputy Chair (July 2024)

Surfing NSW today announced the election of Ben Rolleston as its new Chair, and Lyndel Gray as Deputy Chair. This follows the resignation of John O’Neill and Harry Hodge from the Board of Directors after almost 15 years of esteemed service.

Freya Prumm (Merimbula) and Jordy Lawler (Narrabeen) have taken out the Far South Coast Open – event seven on the 2020 Australian Open of Surfing Series – after some stellar performances in punchy two-foot surf.

Far south coast local and seasoned competitor Freya Prumm (Merimbula) made her first final since the 2019 Maui and Sons Pichilemu Women’s Pro Qualifying Series in Chile. However, unlike her 2019 result, Prumm was able to go one step further and claim the win at Yabbara. The powerful natural-footer put on a clinic in the final, opening with a respectable series of scores in the six and seven-point range (out of a possible ten points) for an eclectic mix of carves and snaps that allowed her to gain the upper hand against some younger competition. Fellow south coast local Keira Buckpitt (Culburra) showed moments of flair but was unable to find the necessary 7.54 wave score needed to take away Prumm’s lead.

“It’s so good that we have had these events to prepare for next year’s Qualifying Series,” said Prumm. “Week after week, when you’re competing you go into the event thinking this is the one and then you get pipped in the semis or the quarters but this one is a bit different, I had my family here and I really wanted this event to be the one I won.”

The Men’s final saw a battle that pinballed back and forth between Jordy Lawler (Narrabeen) and Joel Vaughan (Bateau Bay) with both surfing managing to nail an array of giant snaps and innovative aerials. With the clock ticking through the final minutes of the heat, Lawler was able to find a punchy righthander that saw him nail a handful of beautiful backside hits and as a result, was awarded an 8.20 wave score and consequently leapfrogged Vaughan who finished in the runner up spot.

“This event was the perfect way to prepare for the coming year,” said Lawler. “The waves have been fun and to walk away from here with a win feels awesome. Big thanks to all the locals and the people down here for hosting it. It’s a beautiful part of the world.”

The key location for the Far South Coast Pro was Dalmeny Point with backup locations of Narooma, Kianga, Mummuga Point, Yabbara Point, Duesburys and Carter Beach.

Each event in NSW will see a total $7000 prize purse with $1500 going to the winner of the Men’s and Women’s divisions.

In addition to a larger prize purse, all events on the series will be webcast live through and the Surfing NSW Facebook.

This event in the far South Coast was the first Surfing NSW event hosted here in close to a decade. 

The 2020 Australian Open of Surfing Tour will see events in:
Sunshine Coast, Qld – 19th – 20th September 2020
Gold Coast, Qld – 31st October – 1st November 2020
Cronulla – 8th – 9th November 2020
Port Macquarie – 14th – 15th November 2020
Kiama – 22nd – 23rd November 2020
Coffs Harbour – 29th – 30th November 2020
Far South Coast Open – 5th – 6th December 2020
Northern Beaches – 13th – 14th December 2020

All events will adhere to strict COVID-19 policies and regulations outlined by the Australian Government and council protocols.

For more information, check out Surfing NSW webpage over the course of the event. 

The 2020 Australian Open of Surfing NSW Series is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also supported by Destination Kiama, Coffs Harbour City Council, Sutherland Shire Council, Port Macquarie Hastings Council, Eurobodalla Shire Council and Northern Beaches Council.


Open Men

1 – Jordy Lawler (Narrabeen)

2 – Joel Vaughan (Bateau Bay)

3 – Dylan Moffatt (Narrabeen)

4 – Grayson Hinrichs (Bondi)

Open Women

1 – Freya Prumm (Merimbula)

2 – Keira Buckpitt (Culburra)

3 – Skye Burgess (Berkeley)

4 – Kasey Hargreaves (Stanwell Park)

Mark Windon
OAM Executive Director

Felicity Conlan
Board Member

Francis Coady
Board Member

David Gyngell

Mike Baird

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more