Finalists, Picture – James Robinson / Surfing NSW 

Champions Crowned at the Longboard State Titles 

Published on 12/06/2024

Today we completed the 2024 Volkswagen NSW Port Stephens Longboarder State Titles after three outstanding days of competition here at One Mile Beach.Champions have been Crowned at the Volkswagen Port Stephens NSW Longboard State Titles 

The conditions spiked for finals of the Opens and Juniors on Day Two with light winds providing tapered walls for our top tier competitors to unleash during finals. We progressed into the older divisions with sunny clean conditions and a dropping swell but still enough force to provide great waves and opportunity for some traditional and performance longboarding.

Winner of the Open Men’s Division Declan Wyton from Manly is no stranger to the world of Longboarding. The 2x Australian Longboard Champ and World Surf League (WSL) Tour competitor had his fellow finalists wrapped around his finger after locking in the highest number of the event, a 9.33 in the final, backed up by a 7.83 for a massive and impressive heat total of 17.16 out of a possible 20. Leaving Marleen Guihot, Sam Ticknor and Tom Bennett. all in a combination situation and chasing big numbers.

Although just getting home from the ISA World Longboard Championships in El Salvador, Declan claimed this was his very first NSW State Title win! 

As for the Women’s side of the draw, it was the second last heat of the event that got the crowd cheering. With the O40 Women hitting the water, the stakes were high! After a lot of shuffling across the board, it came down to five seconds before the buzzer where Juliana Scopel was pipped at the post by Laura Pigott who scored a 5.6 in the dying seconds of the heat and jumped into the lead. The camaraderie and sportsmanship between all athletes was the real win of the final. Both girls sharing a laugh as they returned to the shore eagerly awaiting for the results. 

“Total buzzer beater,” said Laura. “That one just came to me and it happened to work in my favour this time. Thanks to my fellow competitors, bring on Aussie’s!”

Another event standout and worthy mention goes to Jason Livingston for taking home not one, but two NSW State Title trophies. O50’s and O55’s. Rumour has it his fellow competitors say they are waiting for him to move on into the 60’s show ground. 


U18 Boy’s Final

1st – Cooper Kelaher
2nd – Cooper Orr
3rd – Kobi Chau
4th – Jayden Fletcher
5th – Gwil Barnes

U18 Girl’s Final

1st – Giselle Taylor
2nd – Alani Wilson
3rd – Nirvana Goyne

Open Men’s Final

1st – Declan Wyton
2nd – Marlenn Guihot
3rd – Sam Ticknor
4th – Tom Bennett

Open Women’s Final

1st – Emma Perrier
2nd – Tully White
3rd – Blaze Angel
4th – Juliana Scopel

O40 Men’s Final

1st – Shane Baker
2nd – Luke Redmond
3rd – Mathew Anderson
4th – Andrew Tyler
5th – Adam McManus

O40 Women’s Final

1st – Laura Pigott
2nd – Juliana Scopel
3rd – Tati Guedes
4th – Wendy Stevenson

O45 Men’s Final

1st – Mathew Anderson
2nd – Sean Dry
3rd – Andrew Tyler
4th – Adam McManus

O50 Men’s Final

1st – Jason Livingston
2nd – Sean Dry
3rd – Alan Morrison
4th – Simon Cox

O55 Men’s Final

1st – Jason Livingston 
2nd – Tony Rae
3rd – Alan Morrison
4th – John Fraser

O50/60 Women’s Final

1st – Sue Mccomb
2nd – Anne Duncan
3rd – Sam Wilson
4th – Julia Magliano

O60 Men’s Final

1st – Robert Smith
2nd – Tony Rae
3rd – George Haskas
4th – Ron Galea

O65 Men’s Final

1st – Jonathon Lavers
2nd – Tony Abood
3rd – Peter Becker
4th – Greig Beddgood

O70 Men’s Final

1st – George Watt
2nd – Peter Becker
3rd – Earle Page
4th – Rodger Jamieson

For full list of results, see here

Thanks to our event supporters; VolkswagenCoward PunchClub MedPort Stephens Council and Surfing NSW

Australian Surf Championships ALLOCATIONS:

U/18 Junior Men (2 spots)

U/18 Junior Women (2 spots)

Open Men (4 spots)

Open Women (4 spots)

Over 40 Women (4 spots)

Over 40 Men (4 spots)

Over 45 Men (2 spots)

Over 50 Men (4 spots)

Over 50 Women (1 spot)

Over 55 Men (4 spots)

Over 60 Men (4 spots)

Over 60 Women (1 spot)

Over 65 Men (2 spots)

Over 70 Men (2 spots)

* Please Note: Allocations are subject to change at Surfing Australia Discretion.


Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more