Surfing NSW – New Chair and Deputy Chair (July 2024)

Surfing NSW today announced the election of Ben Rolleston as its new Chair, and Lyndel Gray as Deputy Chair. This follows the resignation of John O’Neill and Harry Hodge from the Board of Directors after almost 15 years of esteemed service.

The NSW Bodyboard Titles have wrapped up with eight new State Champions crowned at Newcastle’s Bar Beach over the weekend.

The one day event, run with the support of the Newcastle Bodyboard Community, was challenging with athletes battling the elements of heavy winds and rain. However, it showed the true greatness of the athletes who made the most out of every opportunity. The judges were highly impressed with the level of talent that our state’s best had to offer. With many barrels ridden and strong cutback manoeuvres, we saw some huge scores drop throughout the day.

“It was great day although getting pumped by the rain after lunchtime”, said Surfing Newcastle and bodyboard enthusiast Teza McKenna.

“The morning started out great with offshore winds and a one metre swell. That was definitely where we saw some of the best surfing go down. We were happy to still be able to run a full day of competition and crown our champions”.

As for event standout’s, Teza shared it was the local legend John Cruickshank, winner of the Open Men’s division, who was by far the best bodyboarder over the weekend. Coming away undefeated, John managed to lock in an impressive 9-point-ride in the final where he secured the win over Lloyd Ogden, Geordie Ireland and Jesse Mclvor who were left chasing big scores.

Another highlight and worthy mention goes to Hardy Fletcher, the young local talent from Newcastle Bodyboard Club, who was our only champion to go back-to-back after taking out the U12’s in 2023 and claiming back victory this year in the U14’s.

Congratulations to all competitors for these outstanding results.


  • Under 14 – Hardy Fletcher, Newcastle Bodyboard Club
  • Under 16 – Sunny Williams, Forster Bodyboarding Club
  • Under 18 – Cooper Chippendale, Newcastle Bodyboard Club
  • Open Men – John Cruickshank, Newcastle Bodyboard Club
  • Open Women – Milica Ivic, Forster Bodyboard Club
  • Dropknee – Mitchell Brown, Wollongong Bodyboard Club
  • Over 35 Men – Grant Nutter, Gold Coast Bodyboard Club
  • Over 45 Men – Nathian Davis, Coal Coast Bodyboard Club

See full results and heat breakdowns.

Winners of the event will represent Team NSW at the Australian Bodyboard Titles as part of the Australian Surfing Championships early August.

Thank you to our event supporters;

Surfing NSW

Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles

D5 Bodyboard Shop


Mark Windon
OAM Executive Director

Felicity Conlan
Board Member

Francis Coady
Board Member

David Gyngell

Mike Baird

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more