Published on 10/06/2021

The Volkswagen NSW Surfmasters Titles pres. by Moby’s Beachside Retreat got off to a flying start today with four new state champions crowned after a long day of surfing in playful two-foot surf.
Perennial Surfmasters standout Rod Baldwin (Copacabana) added another title to his mantlepiece, taking out the Over-60 Men’s division. As a fresh entrant into the age division, Baldwin showed he would remain a threat in the division in the coming years as he notched up a massive 18.09 two-wave total to claim the win ahead of Bronte’s Bill Morris.
Michael Hoysted (Fern Bay) managed to steal Baldwin’s hopes of a second 2021 event title as he posted a decent 5.7 wave score in the final 30 seconds of the Over-55 Men’s final for an array of searing turns. The last-minute heroics saw Hoysted leap-frog Baldwin and earn the top spot on the dais.
Belinda Koorey (Manly Vale) nabbed herself a victory over multiple NSW and Australian Champion Sandra English in the Over-50 Women’s division. Koorey shone in the dual heats and in turn cemented herself a spot in the upcoming Australian Surf Championships.
Glenn Sharrock (Caves Beach) performed one of the first upsets of the event, taking an Over-65 final ahead of multiple NSW Titleholder Neil Cameron (Byron Bay) who finished in the runner-up position for the 2021 event.
The prominent four-day event will see over 150 competitors – aged 35 and above – battle it out in an attempt to secure an NSW shortboard title and a spot in the national titles at the 2021 Australian Surf Championships.
A range of former World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour surfers and Australian Champions will compete in the event including Shane Wehner (Broulee),  Rod Baldwin (Copacabana) and Mel Bartz (Pacific Palms).
2021 is the tenth year running the NSW Surfmasters Titles presented by Moby’s Beachside Retreat has been held in the Great Lakes region.
The competition will commence each day at 7:30am with the call for the day’s schedule and location confirmed via the event hotline at 6:45am. The event hotline is 0458 247 212.
Divisions for the event include Over 35 Men, Over 35 Women, Over 40 Men, Over 45 Men, Over 50 Men, Over 55 Men, Over 60 Men,  and Over 65 Men.
Moby’s Beachside Retreat will host a free dinner for competitors on Friday, 11 July.
Moby’s Beachside Retreat will also be the official event venue for accommodation. Deals and packages are available for competitors. Check out or
The Volkswage NSW Surfmasters Titles pres. by Moby’s Beachside Retreat is proudly supported by Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles, Mid Coast Council, Moby’s Beachside Retreat and Surfing NSW.
Over 50 Women
1st. Belinda Koorey (Manly Vale)
2nd. Sandra English (Budgewoi)
Over 65 Men
1. Glenn Sharrock (Caves Beach)
2. Neil Cameron (Byron Bay)
3. Graham Shearer (Byron Bay)
4. Jonathon Lavers (Cronulla)
Over 60 Men
1.Rob Baldwin (Copacabana)
2.Bill Morris (Bronte)
3.Gary Hughes (Boomerang Beach)
4.Nick Pearson (Byron Bay)
Over 55 Men
1. Michael Hoysted (Fern Bay)
2. Rob Baldwin (Copacabana)
3. Luke Mullins (Wyee Point)
4. Charlie O’Sullivan (Woolgoolga)

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more