Published on 12/10/2021

The Irukandjis have selected a strong team of nine to represent Australia at the 2021 Pismo Beach ISA World Para Surfing Championship.

With a seventh-place as their last team finish, The Irukandjis will be looking to better that result with a highly decorated squad including past World Champions Sam Bloom, Mark ‘Mono’ Stewart and Matt Formston. 

Given the current challenges regarding international travel, the team is seeking both support and naming rights partners for the 2021 Championship and future campaigns. 

National High Performance Director Kate Wilcomes said: “ We are thrilled to be sending such a large and experienced team that is not only decorated but really passionate about representing The Irukandjis on the world stage. The High Performance Team can’t wait to see the team compete and do Australian proud!”

The Irukandjis 2021 Para Surfing Team 

Gavin Bellis Para Surfing Prone 1
Sam Bloom Para Surfing Prone 2
Jocelyn Neumueller Para Surfing Prone 2
Jack Curphey Para Surfing Prone 2
Wayne Figliomeni Para Surfing Stand 2
Mark Mono Stewart Para Surfing Kneel
Jack Jackson Para Surfing Vision Impairment 2
Matt Formston Para Surfing Vision Impairment 2
Sarah Jane Gibson Para Surfing Vision Impairment 2

The ISA World Para Surfing Championship gathers the world’s best para surfers to compete and display their talents in a Paralympic-style, World Championship competition.

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more