Published on 22/11/2020

 The 2020 Kiama Open – stop five on the Australian Open of Surfing series – kicked off today in a day that saw impressive performances in fun one-to-two foot waves at Werri Beach.

Current Australian Open of Surfing series leader Dylan Moffat (Narrabeen, NSW) showed why he was on the top of the series leaderboard, dominating the opening heat of the day. The northern beaches natural-footer nailed an array of powerful snaps and carves in the heat to finish with a giant 16.27 two-wave heat total.

Not to be outdone, Cronulla goofy-footer Jarvis Earle (Cronulla) used his light frame to positive effect in his round one heat, posting a solid 16.83 two-wave total for his stylish and powerful approach in the small surf. Jarvis will face off against Luke O’Connell (Ulladulla), Mannix Greentree-Squiers (Corrimal) and Jackson Baker (Merewether) when the event resumes tomorrow.

Molly Picklum (Shelly Beach, NSW) used a similar approach that saw her take a runner-up spot in the recent Port Macquarie Open lighting up her opening round heat with a gigantic 17.33 two-wave heat total. Armed with a lightening fast board, Picklum smashed out an array of massive snaps and cutbacks to post the aforementioned score and cement her spot into the second round.

Oceanna Rogers followed a similar trajectory to Picklum in her opening heat, posting a near-perfect 9.00 wave score to claim a win and earn herself a spot in the second round.  

The prime locations for the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle and the Kiama Open are Bombo and Jones with backup locations of Werri Beach

All competitors are advised to ring the event hotline (0458 247 212) by 6.45am on the days of competition to confirm location and running order.

Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW are stoked to announce the next three state qualifying events and the National Final in the 2020/21 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series and the remaining Australian Open of Surfing series events will be streamed live on Kayo Sports starting this weekend in Kiama.

The entire Australian Open of Surfing series features eight events that will take place in the latter months of 2020 and provide professional and aspiring surfers with the opportunity to win prize money and gain momentum going into 2021.

Each event in NSW will see a total $7000 prize purse with $1500 going to the winner of the Men’s and Women’s divisions.

In addition to a larger prize purse, all events on the Australian Open of Surfing series will be webcast live through and the Surfing NSW Facebook.

The 2020 Australian Open of Surfing series will see events in:
Sunshine Coast, Qld – 19th – 20th September 2020
Gold Coast, Qld – 31st October – 1st November 2020
Cronulla – 8th – 9th November 2020
Port Macquarie – 14th – 15th November 2020
Kiama – 22nd – 23rd November 2020
Coffs Harbour – 29th – 30th November 2020
Far South Coast Open – 5th – 6th December 2020
Northern Beaches – 13th – 14th December 2020

All events will adhere to strict COVID-19 policies and regulations outlined by the Australian Government and council protocols.

The 2020 Australian Open of Surfing NSW Series is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also supported by Destination Kiama, Coffs Harbour City Council, Sutherland Shire Council, Port Macquarie Hastings Council, Eurobodalla Shire Council and Northern Beaches Council.

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more