Finalists, Picture – James Robinson / Surfing NSW 


Published on 09/04/2021

The Billabong Oz Grom Cup pres. by Coopers Surf Australia saw a welcome change of weather and pumping four-foot surf today as the elite junior event shifted south to Macauleys Beach for a giant day of boys action.

Lennix Smith (Barrack Heights, NSW) showed why he is considered one of Australia’s most talented up-and-comers as he dominated his 16 Boys round three heat. Smith picked one picturesque lefthander and one beautiful righthander to notch up two near perfect scores, a 9.93 and a 9.87, to take his two wave total to 19.80. Smith progressed through the heat alongside perennial event standout Hughie Vaughan (Bateau Bay, NSW) who posted a solid 15.50 heat total. Smith will meet Yadin Wilson (Palm Beach, Qld) and Willis Droomer (Jan Juc, Vic) in the third round.

Other 16 Boys round three standouts included Harley Walters (Angourie, NSW), Eden Hasson (Port Stephens, NSW), Harry O’Brien (Lennox Head, NSW), Nate Hopkins (Norah Head, NSW) and Tim Bain (Sunshine Beach, Qld) who all posted massive heat totals in excess of 15.00 to earn their spot into the fourth round.

Darcy Dwyer (Sunshine Beach, Qld) and Fletcher Kelleher (Freshwater, NSW) both sent warning shots over the heads of their opposition with both surfers posting 16.16 and 18.23 heat totals respectively. Both surfers will make their next appearance in the fourth round.

Lucas Deffenti (Miami, Qld) surfed well beyond his years in the solid surf, nailing a series of mature snaps and carves to finish his 10-and-Under Boys heat with a massive 16.60 two-wave total.

All scores from day one of the Billabong Oz Grom Cup pres. by Coopers Surf Australia can be found here.

The prestigious five-day event – now in its eighth year – will kick off from the 7th – 11th April and looks set to cater for over 200 competitors in nine different divisions.

Former champions include 2016 World Junior Champion and current WSL World Championship Tour surfer Macy Callaghan who claimed her respective division in the event’s inaugural year. Since then, the event has been won by a range of Australia’s best and most promising junior surfers.

In addition to all the action in the ocean, the final two days of the event will also be webcast through Surfing NSW’s social channels.

All event presentations will be hosted at the Hoey Moey.

Boys and Girls divisions for the event include 8-and-Under Mixed, 10-and-Under, 12-and-Under, 14-and-Under and 16-and-Under.

The Billabong Oz Grom Cup pres. by Coopers Surf Australia will commence each day at 7:30 am with the call for the day’s schedule and location confirmed via the event hotline at 6:45 am. The event hotline number is 0458 247 212 which will leave a voice recorded message each morning of the event.

The Billabong Oz Grom Cup pres. by Coopers Surf Australia is proudly supported by Billabong, Coopers Surf Australia, Coffs Harbour Boardriders, Coffs Harbour City Council, Park Beach Plaza, Hoey Moey and Surfing NSW.

Other News

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

NSW Pro Surf Series Returns in 2024

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (20th December, 2023): Surfing NSW continues its showcase of quality coastline and competitive surfing with the return of the NSW Pro Surf Series in 2024. With two World Surf League (WSL)...

read more
Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week – Mark-Mono Stewart

Athlete of the week! Introducing Mark-Mono Stewart. Born on the North Coast of NSW and a life member of Byron Bay Boardriders Club, the NSW athlete has just been crowned World Champion after winning the US Open...

read more